Vocabulary Lists

You can create your own custom vocabulary lists to share, print, and export for use in other software.

Japanese Language Proficiency Test

The JLPT or nihongoryokushiken is a standardized test held twice a year to evaluate and certify Japanese language proficiency for non-native speakers, covering language knowledge, reading ability, and listening ability. It consists of five levels, with 5 being the lowest and easiest and 1 being the hardest and highest level of certification.

Based on Jonathan Waller's JLPT Resources.

Jōyō Kanji

The じょうようかん Jōyō Kanji (literally "regular-use Chinese characters") is the guide to kanji characters and their readings, announced officially by the Japanese Ministry of Education. The list is intended as a literacy baseline for those who have completed compulsory education, as well as a list of permitted characters and readings for use in official government documents.

Jinmeiyō Kanji

じんめいようかん are kanji for use in personal names. a supplementary list of characters that can legally be used in registered personal names in Japan.